Living a Life Worth Writing About

 

Podcamp Pittsburgh has come and gone once more and as usual, even when I only attended a few sessions and the meet-and-greet, I found something to inspire me. Britt from In Pursuit of Happiness swung through Pittsburgh to host a session on setting boundaries on your blog and shared her own story of finding those limits for herself.

I suppose in some ways, I have blogged less because life is good, but also because I’m finally dating someone who actually uses the internet. The upside? Great fun playing around Twitter together. The downside? Even with my vaguely “anonymous” format (to keep me off the radar at my day job),  I would hate to write anything that The Lady felt was a betrayal of her own privacy or would negatively impact the super wonderfulness of us, together.

But Britt made one statement that really stuck with me when discussing how to find content when you are reigning in the boundaries a bit. Live a life worth writing about. In her context, she was suggesting a way to avoid becoming boring when life gets routine, but I think that it works on other levels.

For a long time, when I was in an awful relationship, my “life worth writing about” was worth reading about because it was such a disaster. The blog was my form of therapy in many ways and venting to the world about the insanity of it all made me feel better. And truth be told, made for a pretty readable soap opera. While I’d never choose to relive that misery, it was great material. (Saying this sort of thing is why some people find writers and bloggers irritating.)

But being single also gave me a reason to fill my schedule with lots of events and adventures that made for excitement. And while I still have adventures, I’m less eager to book myself solid around the clock. Being at home on the couch watching movies makes for great romance in my world. As exhausted as I get at work, I’d rather be in my pajamas than at a five-star restaurant almost any day.

But! Now I have someone new to have adventures with. And it might be time to start writing some of those adventures down  and starting what I hope will be a magical cycle of having adventures because I want to write more and writing more because I’m having more adventures. *cue the Lion King theme*

In the meantime, expect some technical upgrades around these parts now that winter is on its way and there’s finally a reason to sit inside in front of my laptop. For now, if you like Facebook and want to like this blog on Facebook to add these adventures to your stream, you can do so here.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Admin Note, Pittsburgh, Relationships, Writing

Leave a Reply

