Loves.

I do love a broad prompt to work with. In the interest of covering the most ground, we’ll leave this at a list:

  • The smell of my neighbors’ laundry blowing out the vents onto the sidewalk as I walk home.
  • Tacos.
  • New Orleans- not just the drunken rowdy part, but the historical tours, and the hospitality, and the food, and the people, and the fact that the city rises up to meet you and carries you through every journey there like some voodoo/ magical cloud.
  • BC- everyone needs one friend who understands everything about you.
  • These boots– I have three pairs.
  • Sitting on a deep porch and watching the rain fall around me (and related, this poem).
  • Spending a day on a blanket in the park with farmer’s market snacks and a pile of books.
  • The coconut smell of suntan oil.
  • This color:

  • Pearls- faux, real, long, short, necklaces, earrings.
  • The first day that you can go outside in the spring without a heavy coat.
  • Exploring ancient cemeteries.
  • Stopping for every tacky tourist attraction on road trips.
  • When I catch myself slipping back into my Southern accent after talking to someone from home.
  • Gigantic coffee mugs.
  • When my sister gets a little tipsy and gets indignant about things.
  • First edition and autographed books.
  • People who make things- stories, poems, art, comic books, songs, furniture from carved trees, cakes, whatever.
  • That point in the middle of laughter when your stomach starts to ache, but you don’t care.
  • Journals with heavy leather covers.
  • Clicky pens.
  • Pictures of people I love that make them look ridiculous.
  • Digging through bins at antique stores.
  • Post-It Notes.
  • Dancing with friendly strangers to jukebox music in dive bars.
  • When smart people disagree with me, but still like me after we debate.
  • When men put their hand on your waist or lower back to move you out of the way in a crowd or pull you closer.
  • My Tennessee grandmother’s inability to feel self-pity and chin-up attitude.
  • Handwritten letters with actual stamps.
  • Sitting in an Adirondack chair in Vermont in August.
  • The nook- that cozy spot under someone’s arm that creates a bubble from the rest of the world.
  • The smile when I see my parents waiting for me at the airport and they haven’t seen me yet.

I’m sure this list will grow. I fall in love with strangers’ faces on the bus. I love broken, awkward people who stay true to who they are. I love flowers in trees. I love blue nail polish. I love making lists.

4 Comments

Filed under Lists

4 responses to “Loves.

  1. I love your list. I question why you are still single. You need to get out there more. I know guys who would really like you. By the way, don’t ever mask your southern accent. It is like catnip to me.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  2. The boots surprised me. They’re wonderful boots…just not what I had expected. I’m not sure what I WAS expecting, just, not those. I guess. Or Something.

    I agree with so many of these items.

    If you love Post-it-Notes and people who create things, check out http://johnkenn.blogspot.com/ for some creepy-ish but awesome artwork drawn on Post-it-Notes while at work doing work-like things.

  3. I LOVE these answers. So original and heart felt. My favs are; The first day that you can go outside in the spring without a heavy coat; When men put their hand on your waist or lower back to move you out of the way in a crowd or pull you closer and The nook- that cozy spot under someone’s arm that creates a bubble from the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

