What I’ve Been Up To

Those of you follow me on Twitter may have seen a post a few weeks ago with my good news. In August, a small collection of my poetry will be published. I swooned a little when I got the email confirmation from the editor. Especially in light of the fact that when I sent off the manuscript, none of the poems included were accepted anywhere for publication by themselves yet. In the months that passed, I had almost forgotten about the submission, and delightfully three little poems had found future homes in some journals.

So, I’ve been buried up to my neck reviewing the manuscript, changing words and punctuation here and there, moving the poems about to get them in a semi-logical order, trying not to obsess and failing and succeeding at not obsessing depending on the minute or the hour. I want it to be really good. I want it to be better than I know how to make it. But, I also want to remember to take a deep breath and remember to just feel good. Someone wants to publish them.

Deep breath.

Gratitude.

It’s hard to remember to just enjoy the moment sometimes. I’m working on that.

Then, I can get back to working on my manuscript.

10 Comments

Filed under Building a Better Me, Writing

10 responses to “What I’ve Been Up To

  1. I’m so happy for you! Congrats! I know you’re all anonymous on the blog, but would you consider sharing the details with some readers via email? I’d love to know where to find the book when it comes out.

    • I’d be glad to! All the mysterious anonymity is really just to keep the blog and my day job separated (and myself gainfully employed). When I get the exact dates and buying info, I’ll be delighted to share with anyone who’s interested. Thanks for asking.

  2. AWESOME! Congratulations 🙂

  3. sabrinas

    CONGRATS!!!!

  4. I had the same question as Jess! Yay for you! So excited!

  5. Oh, I’m SO happy for you!

  6. Oregon Sunshine

    Congrats!

  7. Congrats! That’s so exciting!!

  8. What wonderful news!! This just made my day and I literally clapped for you. All by myself. Because I’m crazy. Seriously though, congratulations. I will definitely be requesting the name, etc. when it is published so I can put some pennies in your pocket and add a fabulous book to my shelf.

  9. Nice to meet a fellow poet! And I can relate to what you write about submissions. Most of the time, it really is “who you know” unfortunately–but sometimes, as in your case, an editor actually reviews a submission by someone unknown to him/her. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

