The End is Coming

Another year has come and nearly gone, and all across the web people are starting to post year-end best-of lists. Who am I to resist the chance to navel-gaze? So, I’m flipping back through and trying to sum up my year and the changes that happened along the way.

But along with the year-end wrap-up, I’m already thinking about New Year’s resolutions. I make them every year. Few of them get finished in the year. Wash, rinse, repeat. This year, inspired by a friend’s tweet, I’m working on something bigger. A “Make 2011 Great Plan.”

Life is hard enough without making lists of all the flaws I’d like to work on- the usual: lose weight, read more, write more, spend less. But something about the concept of a “make it great” list stuck with me. What if, instead of trying to fix me like a broken vase, I just made a list of all the things that would make the year a great one for me?  Experiences, accomplishments, travels, and yes, even purchases.

So, that’s what I’m working on. While I work, what would go on your “Make 2011 Great” list? Or what do you think should go on mine? Operators are standing by.

1 Comment

Filed under Building a Better Me, Lists

One response to “The End is Coming

  1. What a fabulous idea! I’d say I can’t believe no ones ever thought of it before but in truth I think we are all our own worst critiques and so hard on ourselves and in this fast-paced technological world just trying to go-go-go always improving and better ourselves and going faster and being more successful its no wonder we don’t stop to think about what we COULD do for ourselves and for happiness than what we SHOULD and SHOULDN’T do because we’re supposed to. Things I’d like to put on my list — at least one fabulous trip. domestic or abroad. Finding a job I really like not just because it pays money. Dying my hair an adventurous color (its been dirty blonde/light brown my whole life). Knowing when to say NO and spending more time just being lazy and not feeling bad about it. Cheers, T.

Leave a Reply

