Inspiration Needed, Inspiration Found

Yesterday I had my first class for a writing workshop I treated myself to, in hopes of upping my game and to get some deadlines in my life. Unlike most writers, who seem to complain that they hate the actual sitting down to write piece, I love writing. I love curling up with my laptop or a notebook and making something out of words. But, I am also a noted procrastinator. I need deadlines to give myself permission to make the writing a priority.

For the workshop, I’ll have assignments due every three weeks with the goal being to stretch myself outside my comfort zone, and possibly develop something for a class public reading in December. On top of that, I’ve added “blog more” to the to-do list, but with all this writing happening, I needed an idea or two about what to write.

Enter the 30 Days of Truth, a meme rolling around that I spotted in Miss Grace‘s Twitter feed. Every day, an assignment to write about. No inspiration necessary.

I’m sure there will be days when the actual events of the day are more urgent, but now I’ll have a list to fall back on for a while. Keep your eyes peeled- I’m bringing the truth, the good, the bad, and the ugly. Tomorrow is Day One.

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Writing

4 responses to “Inspiration Needed, Inspiration Found

  1. Mel

    I’m interested in where you are taking this workshop. Being a writer, and mostly used to (and wholly comfortable with) making my own deadlines, I could use a little nudge outside of my comfort zone. Especially if said class helps with “how to pitch.”

    And if I can get away with NOT doing any public speaking.

    Thanks! 🙂

  2. I like that 30 days of truth thing. I’m considering doing it, but I might do it in a journal rather than on my blog. I think I might be afraid of what comes out

Leave a Reply

