Ask, and You Shall Receive

I am generally no hippie about such things, but lately every time I mention needing or wanting something, it seems to pop up. I mention being lonely here, and all of a sudden, I have a full social calendar. I talk to a friend in DC about how I wish I could telework, and the next week my boss sends out a new telework policy that starts in October. I toss up a list of 101 goals and with little to no effort, things on the list start moving on their own.

I’m not saying that money flows like water around me, that I’m suddenly a supermodel or that I’ve latched on to “The Secret” by any stretch. But I am slowly but surely realizing that the first step to getting what I want is figuring out what that is and then letting people know. I mentioned an idea I had for a large-scale project at work to a co-worker, who just so-happened to like the idea and offered to set up a meeting for me to present it with a bigwig.

The luck tides are turning here in Eleanor land, and it’s all a matter of having the brass ovaries to actually admit what I want, apparently. And on the flip side, to take the time to figure out what I don’t want. (What I didn’t want this weekend was to stay home and clean my house if its condition is any indication).

Instead I:

  • went out for bourbons with BC and pals, loaded the jukebox, and danced until morning.
  • watched some pre-season Steelers football to get in the mood for fall.
  • headed out to do some shopping in the Strip District, followed by brunch.
  • went to meet and cuddle a friend’s newborn son.
  • got the first pumpkin ice cream of the season.
  • sat in the yard and had a cold beer on the first cool evening in a while.
  • took a long walk with friends and saw D’s new apartment.

And went to sleep on Sunday night ok with the idea of Monday morning.

5 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Friends

5 responses to “Ask, and You Shall Receive

  1. Good for you! I’m glad things are coming together so nicely.

    Also, you mentioned somewhere that BC has a new boyfriend… what does he think of the baby plan?

    • That’s an interesting question, Jess. They’re fairly new right now, so I’m not even sure whether they’ve discussed it. I asked BC if it changed anything on his end and he said no, so that’s good enough for me. Other than immediate friends and family (and you guys, of course), I’ve superstitiously asked to keep the plan somewhat low key until we make it happen. (I don’t want to jinx anything until we’re sure we can get pregnant, etc.). If BC’s still in (which he seems to be), so am I.

  2. jiveturkey

    Man, it’s not fall until I have the first pumpkin spice latte of the season. But pumpkin ice cream?! Where is this? I must have.

  3. Okay – explain pumpkin ice-cream to this dubious Aussie. Make it sound delicious 😉

Leave a Reply

