The Annual Physical

This morning I went in for my good ol’ annual physical. The doctor at my HMO was new (to me), but a generally nice younger guy who did a decent full rundown on all the good stuff and declared me healthy as can be… not bad for 33. We started talking and got around to the topic of babies and that I want one. Preferably starting sometime this fall… fingers crossed and finances willing.

So, I took a deep breath and answered the usual battery. No, I’m not married. Yes, I have a support system in place. Yes, I know who will be the biological father and he plans to be involved. Yes, we’ve thought this through. Yes, he lives nearby. And then, a new question for me:

“So, your partner is not sexually interested in you? That’s interesting.”

Well, not exactly the way I would have put it, but it made me laugh.

I have my “stop smoking” brochure, a high folic acid vitamin, and a healthy weight loss strategy in the bag. Dear Lord, I’m a grown up. And in the next year or two, just maybe, somebody’s Mom to boot.

6 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Family

6 responses to “The Annual Physical

  1. Yay! So excited for you! And for me! Love that we have similar timing on this.

  2. jnyfritz

    YOU are my hero for not punching him in the face…and everything else, i wish you the best of luck!

  3. I’m excited for you.
    It’s certainly a journey. Don’t let anyone tell you any different.

    You are going to be a great mom.
    I love it when people have babies that they want more than anything.

  4. xoxoxoxo sooo excited for you…yay you…
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

