Things to Write About When You Can’t Think Of Anything to Write About

I admit it. I’ve been a bit stumped lately for blog post ideas. My day-to-day life soldiers on, without much that seems novel to me. Off to work, groan about work, realize I shouldn’t complain because I have a job in this economy, pay bills, meet BC for a drink, yada yada yada.

I’m used to summers being full of adventures- eating outside cafes, concerts, trips to state fairs, playing in the river at Ohiopyle, backyard barbecues. But this summer in Pittsburgh has been rainy and cool and not particularly inspiring when it comes to outdoor activities. Which of course leads me to feeling blah and dreading that fall will be here before we know it, and I love fall, but we didn’t have a summer, and then it will be winter, and ohmygod the snow. Yep. I’m there.

In order to remedy this situation, and escape for a while, and because BC would have killed me if I turned it down, I’ll be on a bit of a sabbatical from August 12 – 23, in a land without cell phone service… Middlebury, VT. I applied to, and was wait-listed at the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and then got a phone call asking if I still wanted to attend. Um… attend a writing conference that practically every great writer ever has attended and spend a week and a half going to workshops and readings and strolling about on a beautiful campus instead of being at work? Yes, please.

I’ll be truly unplugged unless I shuttle into town as far as the cell phone goes, and am going to try to avoid the internet as well (though there’s a computer lab, so we’ll see how long it takes me to give in on that front). So, while I may not have a summer going here, I have a “back to school”. And I’m hoping, an adventure or two to bring home to all of you.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Pittsburgh, Working for a Living, Writing

2 responses to “Things to Write About When You Can’t Think Of Anything to Write About

  1. Fun! What a cool thing to do! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

  2. How AMAZING, congratulations!
    Have fun – I can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

