Jitters

In my constant (and somewhat irritating) quest for a new, better, self-improved me, I’m contemplating something I have never done before- signing up for a slot at a poetry reading night. I’ve read my fiction aloud before, but my poetry not so much. And while I love slam poetry (and slam poets= hot), my poems aren’t exactly slammin’. They’re not nearly raps and end up a lot more like tiny short stories with more metaphors and better line breaks.

I’m printing them out and shoving them in my purse. I have my cheapo, but tough, biker boots on, and we’ll see whether I work up the nerve. Either way, I’m going to hear the other poets read, because it gives me good writing mojo. If I work up the nerve, well, what’s the worst thing that can happen? Everyone laughs? Then I guess I’ll bring the funny poems. But what if I bring the funny poems and no one laughs? Argh.

I’ll let you know what happens.

5 Comments

Filed under Building a Better Me, Writing

5 responses to “Jitters

  1. I’ve never even been to a poetry reading before.

  2. do they have alcohol there? knock back a couple (but only a couple). i’m pretty sure your funny poems are funny.

  3. It’s a little late to wish you good luck, but I do hope you enjoyed yourself and that you received some positive feedback =)

  4. Ah, it takes such bravery to put your stuff out there. Good for you for going, even if you didn’t read. Can’t wait for the update.

  5. wow. how did it go?

    Btw, you have been tagged! Check the rules here: http://thecreatist.wordpress.com/2009/04/21/tagged/

    Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

