Things- My Life in Lists

My journal recently seems to be filling up with lists on various topics. Here’s some overflow.

Things to Do

  • Plan travel to San Francisco in May- things to see, places to eat/ drink
  • Mail check to buy tickets for show with BC
  • Buy beach towels, flip-flops, sunscreen for Florida vacation
  • Clean the kitchen and entryway so the landlord can come fix the heat for the second time.
  • Buy groceries so I can stop living on leftover takeout and save money.
  • Pay the gas bill before vacation and mail the rent check out.

Things Learned

  • If I am bored, invite people to do things and they will come, instead of just waiting for someone to call with a plan.
  • Never volunteer to work “just a little” on vacation- unplug.
  • I am not the only person in America who was sick of the blind guy on American Idol.
  • Completing one task that needs done first thing in the morning at work makes me look productive, no matter what I do all afternoon.

Things about Me

  • I much prefer reading Craft (RIP) or ReadyMade to reading Elle Decor because I am much more likely to make something or fix up a piece of furniture than spend more than $200 on home goods.
  • Foaming self-tanner is a better moisturizer than the lotion, but doesn’t cover as evenly and takes longer for the color to appear.
  • No matter how many times I say I will get up early to do something before work, I will not. The snooze button is too tempting.
  • I almost never just have one drink when I say I am going out for one, so I either need to stop lying to myself, or learn to leave after one instead of three.
  • I pack entirely too much into my carry-ons and then am miserable lugging fifty pounds of junk through the airport. Checked bag fees are worth the increased comfort sometimes.

Things Coming Up

  • Seeing Angels in America with BC.
  • Seeing a drag show in a church with BC.
  • Trips to Cocoa Beach, San Francisco, Oklahoma City, and New Orleans (twice).
  • My Dad’s birthday- for which I need quickly to obtain an awesome gift and feel guilty just falling back on his Amazon.com wish list.

Things to Write About

  • My weird sense that life has moved on without me now that everyone I know seems to be busy being married and parenting.
  • Expanding my short stories into a novel.
  • The bizarre job history which has essentially recession-proofed me.
  • My fall-back life plan with BC and the possibility of it becoming a reality next year.
  • Trying to successfully plant a garden for once and whether it can be done.
  • Taking the “live on half” Suze Orman pledge and trying to figure out which luxuries to cut to make that happen.
5 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Lists, New Orleans, Soul Searching, Travel, Writing

5 responses to “Things- My Life in Lists

  1. A Super Girl

    “No matter how many times I say I will get up early to do something before work, I will not. The snooze button is too tempting.”

    I have a theory that if you’re not a morning person, you never will be. My boyfriend constantly says he will get up and run before work. He has done this a total of…once. On the other hand, I embrace my non-morning self and make sure everyone knows that I am not functional until at least 9 a.m, but preferably 10 🙂

    And man, do I need to go grocery shopping, too.

  2. “If I am bored, invite people to do things and they will come, instead of just waiting for someone to call with a plan.”

    Excellent lesson and great advice. I will remember this.

  3. If I’m still in SF when you’re passing through, I’d love to meet up if you have time.

    P.S. I pack a lot of magazines into my carryon. That way as I read them, I leave them places for others to find, and it lightens my load as the trip goes on.

    Eleanor:Green, I’ll be there May 16- 20 and would love to get together if you’re still in town. The coffee (or whatever) is on me.

  4. GYL

    Hmmm, curious about the fall-back life plan with BC!

Leave a Reply

