2009 New Year’s Resolutions

I started to make a short, sensible list. Which evolved into a bizarre comprehensive list, including doing the dishes currently in my sink. The highlights, with the fat trimmed a bit- a dirty dozen of sorts:

  1. Go meat-free at least one day a week. (Today was the first, and I didn’t miss it one bit)
  2. Take another writing workshop, if for no other reason than to have a deadline to have some writing finished by.
  3. Finish one chapter of the novel per month.
  4. Shop Etsy first, then the big box retailers- support local and handmade.
  5. Sort out and read all the books I own first, before buying new ones- give away the ones I won’t ever read.
  6. Go on one out-of-town vacation (work-cations don’t count).
  7. Set up my spare bedroom as an office, instead of a storage space.
  8. Drink more water.
  9. Learn to upload the photos on my Blackberry and digital camera to the laptop and the web.
  10. Have prints made from all the great old black-and-white family photos my Dad has lying around, frame some, and hang them in the house.
  11. Buy the biker boots I keep wanting and denying myself for no particular reason.
  12. Do 15  minutes (at least) every day to keep the house tidy, instead of letting it get crazy and then having to clean for two days.

Wish me luck!

4 Comments

Filed under Building a Better Me, Daily Life, Lists, Soul Searching

4 responses to “2009 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Great list! I particularly identify with 8 and 12…and I just started number 2!

  2. Great list… I’ve done the “vegetarian 1 day a week” thing for quite a while now, and it’s gotten to the point where sometimes I go 2 or 3 days without meat. I don’t miss it one bit!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. GYL

    ooh, I am so with you on number 3. I can’t believe I will put aside an hour or more every day to make sure my arse still fits in a plane seat yet when it comes to my burning ambition to finish this damn book I am scared shitless and can’t sit down and DO IT. Grrrrr.

    Number 12 is good too. I gotta do that in the garden though. House is generally okay if I don’t look at the walls I should scrub. Maybe I will just repaint em. 😉

  4. “Go meat-free at least one day a week. (Today was the first, and I didn’t miss it one bit)”

    I had the same idea about 4 years ago.

    Thought this was a good idea, read up on veggie stuff, then didn’t eat meat for the next 2 and a half years. Now am back to eating a little fish.

Leave a Reply

