2008: Year in Review

Better late than never, the 2008 year-in-review post, using the same format as last year’s:

  • What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? 
    • Scheduled and cancelled a wedding 
    • Visited Norfolk, VA, Oklahoma City, and Cleveland
    • Took a new position by email without having to interview 
    • Took on 101 goals in 1001 days
    • Sent postcards with PostCrossing
  • Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    • Nope. I didn’t really keep any of them, but I did make more. (Post to follow) 
  • Did anyone close to you give birth?
    • Three of my co-workers had new babies in six weeks- it was a very fertile year. And my cousin is pregnant again, but the baby won’t be here until this year. 
  • Did anyone close to you die?
    • Nope.
  • What countries did you visit?
    • None
    • I’m hoping to change that in 2009 if I get my finances in order this year. 
  • What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
    • More interest in exploring Pittsburgh as a tourist in my town. 
    • Fresh veggies as often as possible, and home-cooked meals too.
    • A car and a driver’s license.
  • What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    • Obama’s election was pretty unbeatable as a milestone for the year.
    • I expected to put the wedding date that never happened, and then realized I had to think of what the date was – wow, that was a milestone moment in itself.
  • What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    • Getting a new position at work based on my professional reputation without applying.
    • Publishing my chapbook. 
  • What was your biggest failure?
    • Trying to force an unhappy relationship into being a happy one all by myself.  
  • Did you suffer illness or injury?
  • What was the best thing you bought?
  • Where did most of your money go?

                         Bills, bills, bills

  • Whose behavior merited celebration?
    • My ex mother-in-law, who handled the end of the engagement with grace and wit.
    • My sister, the Hippie, who was the family member who I felt most supported by when it all fell apart.
    • The American voter for choosing hope over fear.
  • Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? 
    • The ex-fiance’ who managed to make me feel guilty for his lying and cheating ways. 
    • Sarah Palin 
    • My ex-boss, who turned on me the minute she found out I had a new job.
  • What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    • The reading the night of my chapbook release.
    • Shopping on Etsy
  • What song will always remind you of 2008? 
    • Um…. probably the “Yes, We Can” song by Will.I.Am 
  • Compared to this time last year, are you:
    • Happier or sadder: HAPPIER
    • Older or wiser: WISER
    • Thinner or fatter: THINNER
    • Richer or poorer: RICHER
  • What do you wish you’d done more of?
    • Walking around or sitting outside in the sunshine
    • Visiting my family
    • Writing short stories and working on my novel
  • What do you wish you’d done less of?
    • Reading crappy airport novels instead of the good books I own and haven’t read 
    • Throwing up from my gall bladder drama
  • What did you want and get?
    • A digital camera for Christmas (as soon as I figure out how to upload photos, this blog goes photo-tastic!) 
    • Tiffany pearl earrings (a very generous gift from an admirer… more to come on that as well)
    • A Blackberry
  • What did you want and did not get?
    • To work from home
    • An iPod
  • How did you spend Christmas?
    • Christmas Eve with my Tennessee family 
    • Christmas day taking over the cooking duties from my British grandma for the first time- a standing rib roast to die for and permanent assignment as the holiday cook. 
  • Did you fall in love in 2008?
    • Nope. I fell out of love, into curiosity, into desire, and into like.  
  • Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
    • Not that I can think of. I’ve moved beyond hate for now. 
  • What was the best book you read?  The Poisonwood Bible
  • What was your greatest musical discovery?
    • I still love funk, after years of ignoring it. Also, I really want to expand my blues collection.  
  • What was your favorite film of this year?
  • What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    • Flew home to Atlanta, ate at the Red Lobster with the family and opened gifts at Mom & Dad’s, then beers and Wii karaoke with my sisters and brother-in-law until the wee hours.  
    • 32 years old
  • What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    • If I had spent more time on me, and less time on drama with the ex and health problems.
  • How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
    • Cute structured-but-flowy dresses, tights, blazers, ballet flats, yoga pants, and incorporating color into my usually black and gray wardrobe.
  • What kept you sane?
    • Bourbon and BC
    • Lots of time on the couch or in bed with good books 
  • Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    • Barack Obama
  • What political issue stirred you the most?
    • Electing the above public figure  
  • Who did you miss?
    • Oddly, my DC ex occassionally (that took two years)
    • My family
  • Who was the best new person you met?
    • My tough guy ex-Marine co-worker who talked me down after the end of the engagement
    • My current boss, who I shared wine with at a summer conference 
  • Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008:
    • You only get one shot, so you better take care of you in this life. It’s no one else’s job. 
  • Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: 
    • “I guess I just lost my husband
      I don’t know where he went
      So I’m gonna drink my money
      I’m not gonna pay his rent (nope).”  “So What” – Pink
3 Comments

Filed under Family, Relationships, Soul Searching, Working for a Living, Writing

3 responses to “2008: Year in Review

  1. You wrote a good list! I may steal the meme. 🙂

    Glad you got your Blackberry!

  2. 2008 sounds like it gave you the foundation you need for a great 2009.

  3. wow, that’s a great list. your experiences and the events that have happened last year have made you who/what/how you are now (well, i don’t really know you, but based on your entry, i can tell that you are having the best time of your life)

Leave a Reply

