Matrimony- The (First Ever) Contest

All This Could Be Yours....

All This Could Be Yours....

OK readers- just in time for the holidays, I bring to you the very first ever one-and-only Eleanor’s Trousers book giveaway contest! Come one, come all and sign up right here to win your very own copy of Matrimony, a novel by Joshua Henkin, and a New York Times Notable Book of the Year!

The very kind Mr. Henkin has even offered to autograph the book and send it anywhere in the world, so international readers are welcome to play along. And for those of you who just can’t wait to read it, it also makes a lovely last-minute gift for the holidays….. (hint, hint). I have my copy and am flying through it, so grab your own and then re-gift when you win big!

Here’s how we’ll do this:

To enter the contest, leave a comment by December 30, 2008 and say “Pick me”.  To get another entry, also include the title of the best book you read all year- I’m travelling a lot lately and I’ll be needing to add to my book stash. In the interest of keeping everything on the up-and-up, the drawing will be held via little slips of paper which the very honorable BC will pull himself from whatever bowl I can find on the 30th. I’ll email the winner and announce it here on the site as well.

So, warm up your commenting fingers and go to it. You only have one week to sign up and you know you want a free, autographed, well-written book for yourself in these troubled economic times, right? And then when you love it, you can get your book club to read it too and the author may even join in on the discussion- you can see his post on working with book clubs here.

And just to prove to you cynical folks that it’s worth the effort of wearily commenting for the win, here’s what’s being said about the book:

 PRAISE FOR MATRIMONY, a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, a National Booksense Pick,  and a Borders Original Voices Selection:

“In the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates … a novel about
love, hope, delusion, and the intricate ways in which time’s passage
raises us up even as it grinds us down. It’s a beautiful book. Here’s to
 its brilliant future.”
–Michael Cunningham, Pulitzer-Prize-winning author of The Hours

“Truly an up-all-night read.”
–Adriana Leshko, The Washington Post

“Mr. Henkin writes with a winningly anachronistic absence of showiness….
 This is just a lifelike, likable book populated by three-dimensional
characters who make themselves very much at home on the page.”
–Janet Maslin, The New York Times

“Beguiling….  [Henkin write] effortless scenes that float between past and
 present.  [He creates] an almost personal nostalgia for these characters.”
–Jennifer Egan, The New York Times Book Review

“[A] charming novel … Henkin keeps you reading with original characters,
 witty dialogue and a view that marriage, for all its flaws, is worth the
trouble.”
–Tom Fields-Meyer, People

“Radiates the kind of offbeat shoulder-shrugging charm that made Michael
Chabon’s The Mysteries of Pittsburgh so memorable…. [Matrimony] gets to
 you and stays with you.”
–Kirkus Reviews

47 Comments

Filed under Contests, Links, Writing

47 responses to “Matrimony- The (First Ever) Contest

  1. Sarah663

    Pick me! Reading is my very favorite thing. One great book I’ve read recently is Hold Tight, by Harlan Coben. I just picked it up on a whim, but it was a really good read – especially if you like suspense.

  2. Caryn

    Pick me! I just got around to reading My Sister’s Keeper this year, and I really liked it. Happy holidays!

  3. oh, pick me! I love a new book! and I read so many good books this year, it’s hard to pick just one, but I’d say ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns,’ a follow-up to ‘The Kite Runner.’ ♥

  4. Pick me, please.

    I’d say the best I read all year was, of all silly things, the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It was a fun read while traveling.

  5. Pick me!
    The best book I read this year (and I would put it in my top five favorites of all time) is Eat, Pray, Love. If you have already read that… I’d go for Velveteen Rabbit 🙂 🙂 Classic!

  6. Pick me!

    Welcome To The Monkeyhouse by Kurt Vonnegut, was (even though I haven’t finished all of it yet) the best thing I’ve read all year.

  7. Pick me!

    More Sex Is Safer Sex by Steven Landsburg

  8. Pick me! My favorite book of the year? Probably A New Earth, Oprah got to me!

  9. GYL

    Pick me, pick me! Hmmm, do I get disqualified if I say more than one?

    We Need to Talk About Kevin and The Post-Birthday World, both by Lionel Shriver.

    Will You Be There by Guillaume Musso (Bit similar to The Time Traveler’s Wife) and Confessions of a Fallen Angel by Ronan O’Brien. I have been doing a lot of re-reading this year. I read the last two on my honeymoon so they feel sorta ‘special’

  10. Yvonne

    Pick meeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

  11. The best book I have read this year is Glen David Gold’s Carter Beats the Devil.

    I would highly recommend these books, which I have devoured during past travels:
    Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
    Life of Pi by Yann Martel

    For planes specifically, I often carry two favorites:
    Alain de Botton’s The Consolations of Philosophy, which will have you laugh out loud while learning
    Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, which is among the best short story collections ever.

  12. I’ve posted this on Win A Book. Don’t enter me in the contest.

  13. Etewxok

    Pick Me! Please!

    A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer. It’s just a book that I cannot forget, especially since the book tells of a true story. The way it was written from a young child’s point of view was enchanting.

    Happy Holidays. =)

  14. Pick me!!! Ok, I’d have to say my favorite one this year was In the Woods by Tana French. It was just an engaging book at a perfect time. Congratulations on your first ever giveaway!

  15. ~annie

    Pick me!
    Maybe not the “best” book, but highly entertaining:
    The Fortune Cookie Chronicles by Jennifer 8. Lee.

  16. pick me!
    ok best book i read this year was…..drumroll….
    the brief wondrous life of oscar wao…
    i loved it..

    i adore m. cunningham so any book he likes.. i wanna try..
    xoxo

  17. Pick me 🙂
    The best book I’ve read this year is
    “Doghead: A novel” by Morten Ramsland.

  18. Pick Me!

    My favorite read of the year was The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

  19. southpengirl

    Pick me!!

    I love anything by Augusten Burroughs. This year I read Sellevision.

  20. Bridget

    Pick me!

    The best book I’ve read this year is The Outlaw Demon Wails by Kim Harrison

  21. Jessica

    Hi I just found your site, I’d love to win I hope you’ll pick me.

    The best book I read this year is The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I loved it.
    jessica(at)fan(dot)com

  22. Pick me!

    The best book I’ve read this year is “Aberrations” by Penelope Przekop.

  23. Kelly Sue Who

    Ooh! Ooh! Please pick me! I live in a small town in Kansas, and reading is the most stimulation I can hope for (although drinking giant Miller Lite cans at the local tavern/walk-in ashtray is a close second).

    And while I’ve read a lot of good books this year, I would have to say that the best/most memorable was “Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea” by Chelsea Handler. I never thought a book could make me laugh ’til I peed my pants…until I read this one. Happy Holidays!!

  24. Pick me, please!!!

    The best book i read this year is “Slightly out of focus” by Robert Capa.

  25. Nicole

    opps forgot to add the best book i read this year would have to be pride and prejudice!

  26. Kate

    Pick me!

    The best book i read would be twilight! just watned to see what the hype was and it was great!

  27. Jenn

    OOHH! Pick Me!
    My favorite book this year was 1000 Splendid Suns…loved it!
    Happy Holidays!

  28. Pick me please! I’ve read a lot this year, but my favorite is probably “My Sister’s Keeper” by Jodi Picoult. Thanks.

  29. Yvonne

    The best book I have read this year is “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini. Unforgettable.

  30. and i say pick me, too! this is my 1st year of my killer phd program and i’m off til 1/26 and can use some reading material in no way related to my research! my favorite book was “fun home” by alison bechdel. it’s a graphic novel, the story of the authors relationship with her closeted, emotionally distant father and the relationship they developed through their mutual love of english literature. funny, smart, sad, literate as hell, and well drawn–a top notch novel that happens to have pictures.

  31. Michelle

    ooo pick me!! the best book i read this year was the pact by jodi picolt!

  32. Pick me, please! =)

    The latest very good book I read recently was Veil of Roses, by Laura Fitzgerald. I’ve been on a Middle-East bent lately, with The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Digging to America (set in the U.S., but with an Iranian family)…

  33. Pick me! My favorite books of the year have been The Wordy Shipmates, The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Ninety Degrees North, The Linguist and the Emperor, aaannnd The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. (Sorry only a couple are new…I get around to things when I can!) Thanks, and happy new year to you.

  34. Luna

    Oh, and favorite book I’ve read this year…. I think I’d have to say Love in the Time of Cholera. But I also loved The Time traveler’s Wife.

  35. Pick me, please!

    Of books I read this year I can easily recommend The World Is Flat by Thomas Friedman. Took me a while to get around to reading it, so mine had the updated preface. I also loved Lucky by Alice Sebold, but left it on a plane from Atlanta, halfway finished. If you find it, please finish it for me.

  36. Jo

    Pick me, pick me!

    Out of everything I read this year, I’d have to recommend “Shutterbabe: Adventures in Love and War” by Deborah Copaken Kogan. Although it’s nonfiction (my favorite) it’s a good read. Enjoy!

  37. You don’t have to pick me (unless you’d like to, either way). Anyway, Joseph O’Neill’s Netherland is fabulous. Seriously. It’s one of those books that I feel compelled to buy multiples of to keep as emergency gifts.

  38. Pick me!

    Oh dear, I can’t even think of a book I’ve read in 2008. That’s pretty sad 😦

  39. Picking a ‘best’ book out of all the ones I’ve read this year is hard. HARD. Can’t I have a tie? Like, a twelve-way tie? LOL.

    I guess if I absolutely had to pick one, like there was a gun pressed to my head, I’d say Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. But that doesn’t mean I love all the other books any less!!!

    Um… pick me? ROFL

  40. Pick me! And read Bright Shiny Morning by James Frey this year – it is awesome!

  41. Pick me please!

    I think my favorite book of 2008 was The Story of Edgar Sawtelle.

    You can read about more books I read on my blog

  42. Monica

    “The Confessions of Max Tivoli”, hands down. Haunting and beautiful. So, pick me!

  43. Luna

    I know the contest is over, but I just thought of another book I loved: Water for Elephants, by Sara Gruen. It was a great read.

    So who won?

  44. Pingback: Finally, A Winner « ELEANOR’S TROUSERS

Leave a Reply

