Swinger

I have to say, I am relieved to be free of the election. Living in Pennsylvania, the only commercials I have seen for the last six months have been election-related or for prescription drugs. It’s exciting to be in a swing state, but at this point I feel a little like been swung around by the tail. I headed to the polls right after work with one new first-time voter in tow – we were both glad and disappointed to find no lines at all at our voting site.

BC (the best buddy) and I watched the returns on the big screen over pitchers of beer and cheap pizza in a deserted bar where we could order the bartender to change channels and turn up the volume at will.  We got oddly attached to the CBS coverage early on, so switching to CNN in midstream for details was a little intense.

For those of you who got the results you wanted, my fellow Pennsylvania voters and I are glad to accept gifts, thanks, and tokens of affection. However, for those of you who supported Prop. 8 in California, showing that America can be both wildly open-minded about Presidents and wildly close-minded about equal rights for gay and lesbians, I am very distressed at you.

This morning, however, I woke up for the first time in my adult life oddly optimistic about America. Thank you, President Obama.

9 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Politics on the Brain

9 responses to “Swinger

  1. thank you thank you thankyou and xoxoxoxo
    i voted in VA this year…it was awesome to watch it turn blue!
    xoxo

  2. Rochelle

    I don’t even live in the US (and am not American) but I say THANK FUCKING CHRIST FUCK FUCK YES.

    Excuse the language.

    🙂

  3. thank you PA and VA! am still on a mission to single-handedly turn the state of texas blue.

  4. Amen to the political ads and prescription drugs, PA is all about old people and politics.

  5. I don’t know what a real commercial looks like anymore. What are these TV and radio stations going to do for revenue now that the elections are done?

  6. It is a great day to be an American!

  7. Monica

    I love you, PA…thank you, thank you, thank you. I also like you Eleanor, and really enjoy your blog.

  8. Yesterday was a bittersweet day in California. History was made but people out here really disappointed me.

    If you look at the percentages, people 18-30ish voted no and people 40ish and over voted mostly yes. I guess in that case it’s only a matter of time, but I thought I was living in the year 2008, not 1958.

  9. Hugs and kisses to all Pennsylvanians who voted for Barack Obama! This stuck-in-Toronto Chicagoan wants to come home and electing Obama is the first step.

Leave a Reply

