Happy Halloween

I filled up the bowl as soon as I got home yesterday and dashed out to sit on the stoop. Our neighborhood is insane on Halloween- last year we had over 150 trick-or-treaters. This year the turn out was a little bit lighter, but I still emptied the giant bowl and refilled it once. Lots of bumblebees, pirates, a Hannah Montana, one vampire in a Barack Obama t-shirt, and a ton of little punkins among the crowds. Princesses for days. Lots of moms and dads in charge of carrying pillowcases full of candy too heavy to drag home. One tiny policeman in little bitty glasses like the kid from Jerry Maguire who promised sincerely not too arrest me. My neighbor and I laughed at the kids without costumes and the greedy ones. By the time it had gotten cold enough to grab a jacket, the crowds had disappeared to feast on their sugary goodies and I came inside to watch a scary movie.

Tonight I’m off to my friends’ infamous annual Halloween party- 500 guests invited to the rented clubhouse. I can’t remember the last time, if there ever was one, that I went to a private party that big. Apparently things are known to get a little wild as the night wears on, so I’m sure I’ll have good stories to relay when I recover my inevitable hangover.

What am I going to be?

Holiday Cheer

Holiday Cheer

 (This post also found in the 11/5/08 issue of Pittsburgh’s City Paper!)

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Pittsburgh

4 responses to “Happy Halloween

  1. Oh. That is the best costume ever.
    “taco, burrito, what’s comin’ outta your speedo?” 🙂

  2. I almost ran out of candy last year, so I bought double the amount figuring a Friday night would be crazy. I am now stuck with about 50 pieces of candy! On top of my son’s 10 pound goodie bag. Luckily my co-workers have sweet teeth.

    Hope you have fun tonight. I’ve never been to a party that big, either. Should be a blast with all the costumes.

  3. Its the PERFECT CHEER!!!
    Uh huh…. uh huh….. uh-huh, uh-huh, uh-huh!!!!

    I love it!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

