Post-Op

In an effort not to mix pain meds and blogging, a brief hello:

-My gall bladder is out as of yesterday. The surgeon reported all went smoothly and it was inflamed, so having it gone should help with the pain and misery I’ve had for the last five months.

-BC brought me home the same day, bought me soup and crackers and picked up my drugs, and tucked me in on the couch under my grandmother’s quilt.

-I’m pretty wickedly sore and have Percoset every six hours, so I’ve been spending the last 24 hours drifting in and out of sleep and trying to lie very still.

-My shoulder hurts- which is apparently a common aftereffect. They shoot you full of air for the laproscopy and it means the air is bloating my insides and making it hurt. This is supposed to go away fairly shortly.

-In a move that surprised no one, work actually called me today (one day after surgery) to ask me a question about a project I’m working on. So much for work-free days.

– I have, at this moment, 8 magazines and 20 books on the coffee table to amuse me and last night’s debate on the Tivo. I’m an hour into my latest dose of pain meds.

I’m going back to sleep.

Thank you all for the well wishes. I’ll be back when I’m a little more sober.

9 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

9 responses to “Post-Op

  1. Make sure you take a lot of percoset before watching that debate. It was painful. Hope you feel better, soon! I’m sending home-made Jewish penicillin via email. How do you feel about matzoh dumplings?

  2. The debate…Zzzzzz! More of the same. It might be different if we haven’t been at this for a year and a half!

  3. Glad you’re doing okay and surgery had no complications.

  4. Take care of yourself and do what the doctor tells you. You may feel like you’re healing and you will be. Just don’t try to rush it. Happy healing.

  5. So glad you’re feeling decent enough to blog. I hope you have a quick restful recovery. And, yeah, the debate might not be the best medicine though the percocet might make it easier to laugh at it all…

  6. i must admit i would love to read a drugged-up post. hope removing the gallbladder will set you free and you will feel better soon. and work leaves you alone.

  7. I came by to catch up but see for once I am ahead. I hope you have healed and are back on your feet.

  8. Pingback: 2008: Year in Review « ELEANOR’S TROUSERS

Leave a Reply

