The Gall of It All- Part Two

Quick update: They have scheduled my gall bladder removal for next Wednesday. Today I get the full rundown on how long that means I will be out of commission (probably 5 days) and have some tests to schedule for later in the week as surgery prep.

In the meantime, the current debate is whether or not my mom flies up for the big event. I love my mother. And I love her even more for wanting to be here. But, I’m a selfish grownup and the idea of spending a whole week cleaning my house to get it ready for her arrival and trying to “entertain” when I’ll be laid up with books and magazines and bad tv if I get my wish… well, I’m a bad daughter, and I kind of hope Mom stays home and sends flowers. I know, I’m going to hell.

8 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

8 responses to “The Gall of It All- Part Two

  1. If mom stays home, who will take care of you? (you’re not going to hell for thinking that her coming may cause you more work and stress)

  2. I know the feeling. I’m having (much more minor) surgery next week, and my in-town mother wants very much to drive me to and from and to “sit with me” afterwards at my house for the two-day recovery. To which I say thank you, but how can I watch bad movies and eat frosting from the jar if I have my mother as an audience? I can’t, that’s how.

  3. As long as someone will be with you the first couple of days, then I completely get it but you’re going to be in a lot of pain for a few days. Sometimes its nice to have a mom around to help. Hope you’re doing okay.

  4. I hope the surgery goes well. Haha, the older I get the less I feel I want to clean for guests. And the less I actually do. But I’m not saying that’s a good thing…

  5. Lynn

    I can’t recommend this surgery enough. Seriously. The day I came home from the hospital I was able to keep a regular meal down without any difficulty. If the surgery is done endoscopically, the pain is pretty much over in a few days. Hope you are feeling better soon!

  6. good luck with the surgery! i known several people who’ve had this operation, and it’s really changed thier lives, in a good way!

    what would happen if you didn’t clean and your mom came and helped out anyway and just dealt with it? it would be good to have someone there for the first few days, even a freind.

  7. So glad to hear you are finally going to get some relief! Are they going to do it laproscopically? I know someone who had hers removed right through her belly button. No scar and minimal recovery. (Ain’t modern science amazing?) And about the mother thing, I am going through the same dilemma with mine coming after I have my baby in January and I think I have decided the same thing as you, I love her but I love her so much better from a distance. Please send presents! But the guilt….. UGH!

  8. sugar…
    i had my gall bladder removed….its not that bad BUT
    let mom come on up…
    youre gonna reallly appriciate the help…
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

