Preparations

Tomorrow I will be unconscious in an operating room for thirty minutes. While an endoscopy is hardly major surgery, it will also be the first non-dental “surgery” of my life. And I have to admit I’m a little nervous. The doctor asked me to view a “what to expect” video online, skip out on food and drink after midnight, and show up with a ride. Good enough.

But the video also ran through all of the what could go wrong scenarios. Things like bad reactions to anesthesia, tears and bleeding that lead to emergency surgery, samples of “unknown tissue” taken, etc. And all of a sudden I feel very far away from my family in Atlanta, a little alone up here in Pittsburgh in case of emergency. The questionnaire asks about health care powers of attorney and advance directives, which I always meant to get around to, but never did. My local emergency support consists of BC, the ex future mother-in-law, and the ex in a pinch. I have plenty of friends who would visit from work if I were in the hospital, but the numbers of who would sit with me after surgery while I recover on my couch is pretty short.

So, in addition to a scrub-and-shave in the shower, finding the comfortable underwear and the sweatpants I want to come home in, I’m making preparations. Lists of emergency numbers for the family back home in case someone needs to reach them, my supervisor’s direct number in case I’m unconscious when I should be working, a pile of account numbers and where the money stuff is kept.

I am definitely over-preparing for what my doctor views as just another test on our way to discover what is upsetting my stomach so badly. But, my Girl Scout motto has always been “be prepared.” And it seems like when I’m prepared for the worst it never happens. Fingers crossed.

I’ll see you all when I wake up.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Soul Searching

2 responses to “Preparations

  1. You’ll be in my thoughts all day. Take care.

Leave a Reply

