I want, I want, I want

No matter how many treatises on Zen Buddhism I read, the part of me raised in the world’s most capitalistic culture wants things. Lots of things. I have tried reducing my consumption, especially in the realm of bulk purchases. I try to buy quality over quantity and if I must buy new, I try to buy things that last. But it’s back-to-school season (even for grown-ups), and I want to shop. Only now that I’m a grown up, I want things that don’t come cheap. In the interests of collecting, here are a few of the things I’m craving. Until my bank account gets a little (ok, a LOT) more full, I’ll have to settle for desire.

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Links, Lists

4 responses to “I want, I want, I want

  1. all good. if you need help justifying any of these purchases, i’m your girl. let me know. like those boots, for example…they’re so useful. you’ll wear them every day the temp is under 70. they’ll get you through rain, sleet, snow, and hail. and only look better as a result. plus, you’ll want to walk more because they are so stunning so you’ll increase your cardio. and walking is better for the environment too. they’re also pretty badass so will be added protection if you are ever by yourself. who would mess with you in those boots? do it for safety’s sake.

    Eleanor: Betty, I love it! I am also really, really glad we don’t go shopping together. Because I would be so broke. Happy. But so, so broke. 🙂 Thanks for the laugh.

  2. My friend has those Frye boots – she wears them all the time and L O V E S them. Totally, really loves them. They last forever. Great investment.

  3. I like the boots and couldn’t survive (really) without the Blackberry. IT isn’t as nice as that one but my company pays for mine.

  4. I want that Blackberry.

Leave a Reply

