Oy. Thank you Noxema.

When Tuesdays are Mondays

Sunday was a beautiful day for a beer-soaked picnic. Clear skies, mid-70s, jello shots and bean bag games in the trunk of the car with good friends. It also would have been a good day to realize that a boat neck T-shirt leaves those two inches of flesh on either side of my neck out for the sun to scorch. And that after a few hours, the sunscreen on my forehead was bound to get rubbed off with the sweat from running around. Which means I now have two very red shoulders and a wide stripe of red across my forehead who curse the sun. And my fair skin and red hair remind me again that I was built for cloudier climates.

In other, non-painful, weekend moments: went out Friday night with BC and his boyfriend for dinner on Friday at Sweet Basil. Took a risk and ordered the Asian pumpkin curry shrimp- highly recommended! The pumpkin was more potato-y by the time it was baked and curried and the shrimp didn’t taste frozen then thawed, which is pretty challenging when you live this far inland. The boyfriend, who knows about such things, brought two good bottles of Shiraz which we were glad to drink for him. When it comes to wine, I am generally a fan of anything in a box, so if a bottle tastes good to me, I know it must be the real deal. BC and I spent much of dinner giggling while boyfriend and his older friend discussed real estate and nursing homes for their parents. BC and I both are within a year of our first couch buying experiences, so the ten year age gap showed. We followed dinner with a cocktail or two at Remedy– good drinks, cool vibe, horrible faux Jackson Pollack art on the walls. By then, the wine and food and bourbon caught up with me, so I was home with the fiance’ before 11.

Yesterday was all about recovery from the picnic. We pulled ourselves out of bed at 1 pm, slipped on sloppy clothes from the floor and poured ourselves into Barb’s Corner Kitchen for fried, fried, and fried with coffee. After a quick run to grocery store, we crawled back onto the couch and spent the rest of the day channel surfing (thank you Law & Order marathon). We tried to watch the Penguins in the Stanley Cup finals, but it was too depressing and neither of us like hockey enough to watch the home team get creamed. Leftover pizza for dinner.

And now, here I am. Back in the office. If you’ve never tried it before, may I suggest not wearing a cashmere cardigan on sunburned shoulders. And having a bigger cup of coffee first thing in the morning.

5 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Friends, Links, Pittsburgh

5 responses to “Oy. Thank you Noxema.

  1. It sounds like a great weekend! My first couch buying experience was good at the time, but it was only two years ago and I already hate the couch. Bad move, I think.

  2. Thanks for the reminder. Gotta stock up on aloe.

  3. Pingback: Freestyler

  4. Lina

    Sunburn! Owwie! Glad you had a good time before the burn pain set in. must have jello now! 🙂

    I was given my first couch, but it was a beautiful antique (and I was 22), so my “couch-buying experience” involves going to IKEA to get something tasteful under a certain dollar amount, but I more or less put a hand over my eyes and pointed. lol

  5. What a great weekend. I think I need a little more fun in my life.

Leave a Reply

