Getting Ready to Get Away

With my new job responsibilities comes additional travel, so I will be spending various weeks in Oklahoma City, Norfolk, VA, Orlando, FL and next week in my former hometown of good ol’ Washington, DC. Generally, I don’t mind the occasional work trip- free hotel, expense account for food, cabs when I need them paid for, and the peace and quiet at the end of a long day of dull meetings with hotel t.v., room service, and a good book. This Washington trip will be even better. Three of the “cute shoes bureaucrats” and I are road-tripping it out to DC from Pittsburgh on Tuesday and staying at a cute hotel with $5 martinis at happy hour until Friday. It’s Spring Break for grown ups!

I’m working on figuring out the internet access at the hotel, so if for some odd reason I drop off the face of the earth next week, it’s either from a lack of internet or a wealth of cocktails. Either way, big city here I come. I’m already making a mental list of all the places I have to eat while I’m there… first on the list is Mexican- there is nothing even resembling good Mexican food in Pittsburgh.

3 Comments

Filed under Travel, Working for a Living

3 responses to “Getting Ready to Get Away

  1. Haha.
    “it’s either from a lack of internet or a wealth of cocktails.”

    hehhee, have fun lady!

  2. Ashley

    If you are on the lookout for good Mexican in OKC, ask someone to direct to Ted’s Escondido. Their fajitas are to die for and service is phenomenal!

  3. I really need to adopt your business trip attitude. I think I just do it too much and the novelty has worn off. Plus, I gain mad weight when I travel!

Leave a Reply

