Fun from Hey, Hey Jen-Nay

I’ve been tagged by Hey, Hey Jen-Nay to write a six word memoir. Below the rules:

Legend has it that Hemingway was once challenged to write a story in only six words. His response? “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” Last year, SMITH Magazine re-ignited the recountre by asking readers for their own six-word memoirs. They sent in short life stories in droves, from the bittersweet (“Cursed with cancer, blessed with friends”) and poignant (“I still make coffee for two”) to the inspirational (“Business school? Bah! Pop music? Hurrah”) and hilarious (“I like big butts, can’t lie”).

Here are the rules:
1) Write your own six word memoir.
2) Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration if you’d like.
3) Link to the person that tagged you in your post, and to the original post if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogosphere.
4) Tag at least five more blogs with links.
5) Don’t forget to leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play.
6) Have fun.

Since I am ridiculously late in doing this, I won’t pick people to “tag”- but if you decide to play along, let me know and I’ll put a link here in the post to yours.

Mine: Take the easy way out? Never.

P.S. – Thanks for playing along Rebecca and Toaster Strumpet!

6 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Links

6 responses to “Fun from Hey, Hey Jen-Nay

  1. I love this. I did it myself a few weeks ago–but too old for you to worry about linking to the post. Mine was:

    Need baby; will settle for dog.

  2. I will play along with this one. However, I have a “time to play…” kind of entry on my blog. It’s time to write a poem!

  3. Lina

    I haven’t heard of this one yet. I love your 6-word memoir btw

  4. Pingback: Bread and Buttah » Archivio Blog » Six Word Memoir

  5. You can read my memoir on my blog today. I have been wanting to do this forever, and now I finally did. Maybe I should have made my 6-word memoir be:

    Yes, I am lazy. Suck it.

    😉

  6. Thanks for the tip rationalpsychic. I played along- I’ll take my 20 points now.

Leave a Reply

