“Change is Great,” she said, gritting her teeth

WordPress has gone and updated their layout– which I’m sure I will find wonderful, once I get used to looking for all the little gizmos I use all the time that are now hiding from me when I go to write a post. I love new things- but it takes some getting used to. And adaptation is a skill set I have to work on.

I used to think I was a totally laid back, go-with-the-flow girl. A Zen master. My self-image was fairly concrete about this fact. Two long term relationships with fairly insightful people have proven me totally wrong. I am totally laid back- as long as everything goes exactly the way I planned it. Which can make me a bit of a tempest when it comes to changing the plan. The monologue in my head goes something like, “OK. This other person has an idea that strays from the idea I spent hours thinking about and have now built up such expectations that it will be perfect, that if I do this new idea, perfection will destroyed, which means we can’t can’t can’t can’t change the plan or everything will be miserable, the fabric of the universe will unravel, and I will be worthless as a human because I can’t get even one other person to go along with my plan. Woe is me. I am a failure. This other person sucks for not seeing my greatness in plan-making. So, you see, this is why we have to have brunch at 10:00 and not 10:30.” Yep.

The sad part is, I had to have it pointed out about 964 times before I caved and accepted that maybe, just maybe, I am a tiny bit of a control freak. I’m not sure how I ended up this way, but it has taken some major self-examination to get me to the point where I could laugh when someone pointed it out and not shoot through them with flaming eyes of dragon fire.

All this goes to say, I will accept this new WordPress format if it kills me. Even if they should have known that I am not very tech or change savvy and it means that I have to take a deep breath and two extra minutes to find all my gizmos. And even if this clearly means that this system, with millions of users, didn’t take my personal needs into account. (Where are you spell-check?) 

(I MATTER WORDPRESS!!!! she shouted, giggling at her self for being precisely the kind of woman she never thought she was).  

9 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Relationships, Soul Searching

9 responses to ““Change is Great,” she said, gritting her teeth

  1. It’s not just your personal needs, though. Lots and lots of people have been complaining about this. And you aren’t the first person who’s mentioned not being able to find the spell-check, either.

  2. Amen sister!
    I can’t figure out how to change the images in my sidebar.
    The link function for the image is hiding somewhere. So everyone has to think i’m taking forever to finish Their Eyes Were Watching God….
    sigh.

  3. missprint

    The new dashboard is kind of better once you get used to it, but I’m still fuming at the loss of word count while writing posts (supposedly they’re working on fixing that). Good luck with the adjustment period!

  4. (In my best wicked-sinister voice)

    And then she puts my Dashboard the way it used to be…

  5. This is stressing me out as well.

    That is all.

  6. I adore the new wordpress. Honestly I do. I think you will too after you get used to it, remember wordpress wouldn’t change it for the worst.

  7. Glad to know I’m not alone on this- thanks for confirming that my panic is not entirely a product of my insanity.

  8. courtneyryan369

    I’m not enjoying it either, but they promise the spell check will be back soon!

    Argh, adjustments! But that’s life for you, right?

  9. Lina

    I downloaded the Google toolbar so I could have spellcheck again! This is just another example of getting used to one way and then it changing on you! I do kind of love though

Leave a Reply

