When Text Messages Attack

March 8, 2008 in the wee small hours of the morning. On my cell phone. Suffice it to say “Girl” is not me. Suffice it to say, the weekend has been rather tense since this discovery.

5:37 a.m.: (From Fiance’ to Girl)- What are you doing 

5:41 a.m.: (From Girl to Fiance’)- Who is this

5:42 a.m.: (Fiance’)- (Fiance’)

5:56 a.m.: (Fiance’) – Want to see you

5:59 a.m.: (Fiance’)- By my house

6:01 a.m.: (Fiance’)- You need to come hang out with me

6:07 a.m.: (Fiance’)- Are you busy

6:08 a.m.: (Fiance’)- I would love to see you

6:40 a.m.: (Fiance’)- What are you doing 

9:29 a.m.: (Girl)- Ah i fell asleep! Ive been at gregorys.

10:08 a.m.: (Fiance’)- Hey

10:30 a.m.: (Fiance’)- Where you at

10:34 a.m.: (Fiance’)- You sleep

Um. yeah. So not o.k. with this.

11 Comments

Filed under Relationships

11 responses to “When Text Messages Attack

  1. 😦

    I hope you guys work it out

    😦

  2. anon

    Why do you continue to put up with so much crap from this guy?

  3. You know anon…. I’m getting pretty fed up with myself too. This post used to cover the bases, but really the crap is getting a little deep even for me.

    https://eleanorstrousers.wordpress.com/2008/01/29/why-i-voluntarily-live-with-a-crazy-person/

  4. When the negatives outweigh the positives it’s time to leave. Or when messages become borderline..it’s also time to leave. I don’t know, I don’t want to judge, but from what I’ve read about this guy I’m not sure he deserves you. Think carefully before tying the knot. I’m sorry if that sounds horrible…it’s easy for me to be blunt and judgemental as we’ve never met..but that’s my perception from reading this blog…

  5. It is devastating to see something so stark — and, frankly, so disrespectful (by using your phone knowing — or not caring — you would see the messages).

    Relationships are hard and I would never presume to tell anyone what to do. Each relationship is different with its own little agreements of what constitutes acceptable behavior.

    But . . . the one essential element of any successful long-term relationship is respect. Love, friendship, and attraction change and wax and wane over time. Respect is the one constant.

    I am so sorry that you are dealing with this and I wish you the strength and grace to do whatever is best for you.

  6. Thanks letigre and The Planner. I’ve definitely shown my cards this week and am not taking this or its larger implications lightly.

    I appreciate your concern and will definitely be keeping everyone updated.But I really appreciate the time you both took to make such thoughtful comments. Obviously, untangling an engagement and a shared home gets a little complicated…. sometimes I wonder if I just don’t want to do the work to get him out.

    I know. As BC has repeatedly told me, lazy is no excuse for miserable.

  7. Pingback: Witness for the Defense « ELEANOR’S TROUSERS

  8. Okay I read these posts in reverse order so excuse my tardiness on this. I haven’t been reading your blog for long and so didn’t know about other times that he’s treated you badly as mentioned by your commenters. But now that I’ve read the other comments and particularly your last one, I have to say that I agree that you need to be really careful what you decide to do here. It sounds like this guy doesn’t have a lot of respect for you or for other women, and that’s a really big problem. And it sounds like you need to take your time and figure out if this is really the person you want to commit to for the rest of your life.

    Just please, please don’t marry someone just because it’s simpler to go through with it than to end it. That is not a good enough reason to promise the rest of your life to someone who doesn’t deserve it.

    Good luck!

  9. jemjester

    Think hard a/b this. You don’t want a life like mine.

    “Never make someone a priority when to them you are an option.”

  10. A Male Perspective

    I’m sure he will excuse this, and you will forgive him, but there is no way around the fact that this guy is a total douchebag. And you do not want to commit your life to a douchebag.

  11. Pingback: Things to Do When It’s Over « ELEANOR’S TROUSERS

Leave a Reply

