Rain, rain, go away

(c)allposters.com

I love rain. When I can be inside and warm and watch it through the windows from bed. When I have to drag a giant bag of files on two buses to work and splash home with soaking feet and pants legs and an umbrella that has blown inside out, rain is not my friend. Pittsburgh has an average of 153 rainy days per year. That’s 41% of the year, for you math types. That, my friends, is a lot of rain. There are warm rains, short rains, Noah-and-the-Ark rains, and every other kind of rain in between.

Dressing in rubber every day is no option (unless you have a fetish for that sort of thing). So, chairs in the dining room are draped with rain-soaked pants drying out. Shoes are tossed on the heating vents. My curly hair has done its own thing now for longer than I’d like to admit. And while it’s been lovely and warm for this time of year, the rain makes it hard to put on a warm weather outlook.

That’s a moot point. The snows are coming back this weekend. And while I’d like to offer you all more than this small talk about the weather, at this point, it’s all I have to offer. That and one word.

Blah. 

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Pittsburgh

4 responses to “Rain, rain, go away

  1. Just once in a while I get the time to surf the net for interesting blogs…and I happened on yours today and read and liked what I read!

    Eleanor: Thanks!

  2. Seriously. That is all I can say.

  3. twobrides

    41%?? I’m depressed when it rains 3 times a month. I covet CA already….but 41%?? Might as well glue an umbrella to your hand.

  4. kk

    hey I just thought I’d say, Portland OR has 155 days of rain per year (only two more than you), but I live elsewhere in the state, closer to the beautiful cascades, and we get rain about 50% more than portland does. the way I see it, liking rain is all about your attitude. I LOVE rain no matter what, but I do understand the whole paperwork thing! I was walking home one day (about 2 miles) in the POURING rain, and instead of seeing the bad points, such as my bag and my work getting soaked, I figured there was nothing I could do about it, so I cast all my pride aside and went puddle stomping all the way! my shoes and everything were soaked clear through, but they would have been anyways, and I had fun out of it. Sorry to the sweet guy I was walking with!

Leave a Reply

