Why I Voluntarily Live With a Crazy Person

Because this blog has become my venting outlet and a place to hide from the insanity of my life, sometimes the worst parts of the fiance’ get showcased and the positives get ignored. In the interest of letting you all in on the other side of my life, a list of reasons why I stay:

  • Every time I walk into the room he calls me “Beautiful” or “Sexy Mama”
  • He watches Project Runway, America’s Next Top Model, the L Word, and Crowned just to spend time with me
  • After a long day at work, he’ll still sit down and help me edit my stories, making valuable suggestions
  • He’s a fine dining chef, but swears he’d rather eat my chicken and dumplings any day
  • He gets so excited when we both have a “date night” planned- it’s all he talks about all week
  • He always asks for “five more minutes” of spooning before we get out of bed in the morning
  • The loud reggae music he insists on playing with the car windows down the minute the weather gets warm
  • His favorite event tickets are for kiddie events- the circus, Monsters Inc. on ice
  • When he starts reading any kind of series of books he has to read them all one after the other immediately
  • He paints my toenails so I don’t mess up my manicure
  • He still holds doors and opens car doors for me (and insists his little brother do the same)
  • When I get completely panicked or stressed he instinctively becomes the calmest person ever and lets me know it will all work out fine
  • When we order chicken wings, he saves me the drumsticks since they’re my favorite
  • He swears by my scalp massages as an insomnia cure
  • He drops everything to help anyone in need and has been known to pull over to tell guys to stop shouting at or hitting women
  • When everything gets quiet and we’re curled up on the couch, he whispers “You’re my favorite,” in my ear
  • The way he looks in a wife beater and jeans cleaning the kitchen
  • The fact that he understood (and insisted to his mother) that they buy me a duvet cover and sweater because they were exactly my favorite colors
  • Because I’ve never had to take out the garbage once
  • Because he always can tell in a crowd when I’m stuck talking to someone I don’t want to and finds a way to liberate me
  •  Because he introduced me to two of my favorite books
  • He found the exact curtains I had mentioned wanting at the store and brought them home the same night
  • He always wins at board games but keeps playing me anyway

And many, many more. Last night after a disastrous day at work, he called for Chinese and pulled up two chick shows off the tivo for brain relaxation. And when I started pacing late into the night, worried about more of the same today, he crawled into bed with me early and held me suggesting everything from putting a hit on anyone who bothered me to running away to Europe. And I laughed. And slept. And faced the day- fairly successfully, if I do say so myself.

12 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Lists

12 responses to “Why I Voluntarily Live With a Crazy Person

  1. Awww, I can see why you keep him around. 🙂
    I think I might steal this for a Valentines post, I love reading about the cute things other couples do and it’s so nice to compile a list of reminders on what we love about those who we love.

  2. I agree – i think this is a great idea for a V-day post. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Thanks ladies! He really does have his charming moments, if I do say so myself.

  4. He sounds like the best combination of a modern and old fashioned man. The best of both worlds.

  5. This was lovely. As this was the post I read first, I get all the nice things about him up front. And at the risk of sounding like a groupie, can I just tell you how much I love your blog? So real, so honest, and such great writing. I’m officially a fan.

    Eleanor: Thank you so much. I needed that. (fondly, E)

  6. Lina

    My Ipod landed on Lfo and I remembered that I hadn’t read your blog lately. Bad me! 🙂

    I third the motion for a Valentine’s Day post! everybody tag the folks on their blogroll and let it spread like the flu on the metro. All day, posts saying all the good things about the one your with.

    Eleanor: I LOVE that idea. And that LFO reminds you of me. It is a proud, proud day. Thanks Lina!

  7. Pingback: My Interesting Exes — Inspired by “Why I Voluntarily Live With a Crazy Person” « The New New Plan

  8. I love this post. It’s so sweet.

  9. bipolarlawyercook

    Sounds familiar. Lucky gal, you.

    Eleanor: You too. Great minds must think alike.

  10. really nice one and keep it up!

  11. Pingback: My Year in Romance « The New New Plan

Leave a Reply

