Flashing Back on 2007- the Survey

I spotted this survey on “Scared of Revolving Doors” and thought it was a great way to sum up the past year. Here’s my version:

  • What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before? 
    • Got pink & white acrylic nails (that I’m still learning to type with)
    • Visited Baltimore and Philadelphia
    • Paid my own bills without a partner or a roommate
    • Submitted writing for publication
  • Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    • I didn’t really keep most of them, but I did make more. See below
  • Did anyone close to you give birth?
    • Nope.
  • Did anyone close to you die?
    • Nope.
  • What countries did you visit?
    • None
    • I’m hoping to change that in 2009 if I get my finances in order this year. 
  • What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
    • Peace in my home life, even if it means I have to be alone.
    • Enough money to make it from paycheck to paycheck without using the charge cards.
    • A car and a driver’s license.
  • What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
  • What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    • Not getting fired or quitting my job, even when the going got tough.
    • Maintaining some semblance of my sanity despite my home life.  
    • Being named to a mayoral commission 
  • What was your biggest failure?
    • Putting up with being taken for granted, taken advantage of, and stepped on at home.
  • Did you suffer illness or injury?
    • Got a bad cold over Christmas that still leaves a lingering cough.
    • Turned my ankle in my spike-heeled boots and it still isn’t quite right.
  • What was the best thing you bought?
    • My laptop
    • My couch 
  • Where did most of your money go?
    • To the alcoholic fiance’ for drinking 
    • Bills, bills, bills
  • Whose behavior merited celebration?
    • My best friend, BC, who I nominated for (and who won) a local honor for his service to kids.
    • My sister, the Hippie, who was not only a beautiful bride, but a kind one who even the wait staff complimented on her sweetness and considerate-ness.
    • My mini-me, J, who not only got into college on a scholarship at the last minute, despite a big disappointment when she didn’t get her first choice, but also got straight A’s her first semester at a tough school.
  • Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? 
    • The fiance’ who not only failed out of college (again), dropped his therapist, and went months without a job riding my couch, but also managed to completely ignore me, hurt my feelings, and accuse me of being money-centered when I asked him to get a job.
    • The many ‘mos I know who live to drink and drink to live (along with other substances).
    • My boss who gave up on me long before I started looking for a new job.
  • What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    • The Steelers (for the first of the six years I’ve lived in Pittsburgh)
    • The opening of Your Inner Vagabond coffeehouse in Lawrenceville after I attended Jalsah Pittsburgh there.
    • Decorating for Christmas (until the fiance’ bailed on me)
  • What song will always remind you of 2007? 
  • Compared to this time last year, are you:
    • Happier or sadder: SADDER 
    • Older or wiser: OLDER
    • Thinner or fatter? FATTER
    • Richer or poorer: POORER
  • What do you wish you’d done more of?
    • What I wanted when I wanted instead of waiting on the fiance’
    • Visiting my family
    • Writing and submitting poetry and short stories
  • What do you wish you’d done less of?
    • Spending time arguing with a drunk
    • Crying
  • What did you want and get?
    • A laptop, a couch, and a black blazer for work 
    • A  spine
  • What did you want and did not get?
    • Real love 
  • How did you spend Christmas?
  • Did you fall in love in 2007?
    • Nope. But I fell out of love pretty fast.
  • Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
    • Yes- the fiance’s Bad Influence Friend
  • What was the best book you read?
  • What was your greatest musical discovery?
    • My general love for country music that I’ve been in denial about for years
  • What was your favorite film of this year?
    • I waited a long time to see it, but “Dreamgirls” wins
  • What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    • Cried until 12:30 since the fiance’ went out without me and then had several self-pitying cocktails with BC.  Oh. And wrote this poem.
    • 31 years old
  • What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    • If I had been loved the way I loved.
  • How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
    • Gray pants, black ballet flats, the giant purse, and sweaters. And the giant faux pearl earrings, of course. 
  • What kept you sane?
    • My therapist, at times
    • My mother-in-law
    • Being transferred to a different job site from my supervisor
  • Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    • Barack Obama
  • What political issue stirred you the most?
    • Pittsburgh’s mayoral incompetence (which led to my first vote for a Republican in 14 years)
  • Who did you miss?
    • BC- I never get enough of him
    • My sisters and Mom
    • The girls in DC- all of the “cute shoes” feminists
  • Who was the best new person you met?
    • KT at work and the rest of the “cute shoes” bureaucrats 
    • The Post Gazette staff
    • GP at work, the Republican with an intellect who enjoys debate. 
  • Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:
    • With some people, no matter how much you give, it will never be enough. And that is not your fault.
  • Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: 
    • “Jack Daniels, you lied to me again.” 
7 Comments

Filed under LGBTQ, Links, Lists, Pittsburgh, Working for a Living

7 responses to “Flashing Back on 2007- the Survey

  1. morethananelectrician

    Realizing one’s own inner strength is a valuable tool. Almost everything else falls in line after that…

    …Here is to a positive 2008.

  2. Same to you! Thanks for the words of encouragement. -E

  3. Meghan

    Just wanted to say I really enjoy your blog.
    Found it from a Greek Tragedy comment you made and have added it to my bookmarks.
    Happy New Year.

  4. I love this post. I am going to do the same thing too. Yes, I am a copy cat.

  5. Copy away, Rebecca! (That’s how I got the idea…) I am a lazy blogger, but who doesn’t love a good survey every now and then. I’ll check in when you’ve done yours to see how it goes. -Eleanor

  6. Pingback: 2008: Year in Review « ELEANOR’S TROUSERS

Leave a Reply

