In Eleanor’s Stocking This Year

My apologies for my lengthy absence, but I have vacated the Great White North of Pittsburgh to celebrate Santa’s arrival in Atlanta with the family. Despite the fact that I have a heinous cough and cold and a raging toothache that demands Tylenol every four hours (including waking me with its demands), it’s been a good visit. My sister, the Hippie, and her husband are settling in to their new house and I spent last night having an old school sister slumber party, drinking cheap beer from a can and watching t.v. while we caught up on life. Today, we cleaned up and invited the parents and the Yuppie sister over for dinner and I helped her host her first family dinner in her home. She handled grilling chicken and I made everything else (sweet potatoes, baby carrots, and a romaine salad with cranberries and feta- yum). It was all nicely lubricated by wine and tales from our childhood. We all dozed afterward watching a movie until it was time for custody of me to switch to my parents and away we drove.

I’m a little wine-addled, but in the interest of spreading the cheer, a list of gifts, as best as I can remember….

  • Several novels
  • A sweater
  • A suit for work (too small)
  • A shirt
  • Two pairs of shoes
  • A portable DVD player (pink, no less)
  • A boardgame
  • A book lover’s desk calendar
  • A quilt, handmade, from my Tennessee granny
  • A mug
  • A purse
  • Socks and underwear
  • Some vanilla lotion and body spray
  • Two new skillets
  • A crock pot
  • New bed sheets and a throw blanket
  • Gift cards to Target, Old Navy, Wendy’s, and Barnes & Noble
  • True Love tarot cards (not sure what my Mom was hinting at there… get better taste, maybe?)
  • From the fiance’s family- shoes, a tablecloth, a scarf, a T-shirt, a Wiccan day-planner(?)
  • From the (ex?) fiance’- nada. nil. nothing. bastard.

So, as you can see, I have been very blessed this year. Bless you all and your families. Pittsburgh, I’ll see you tomorrow night- warm up for me, you hear?

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Life, Family, Lists

Leave a Reply

