Quotes found in my office

I am an obsessive quote collector. Really and truly, there’s something addictive about it. So, in the interest of memorializing what I see every day, here are a few from the post-its around my desk.

“Just don’t give up on trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.” -Ella Fitzgerald

“Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death.” -Auntie Mame

“Use what talents you possess. The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best.” -Henry Van Dyke

“I am a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it.” -Thomas Jefferson

“Your life becomes the thing you have decided it shall be.” -Raymond Charles Barker

“Any woman can be beautiful if she merely treats beauty as a form of discipline.” Garance Franke-Ruta

“If you do not raise your eyes, you will think that you are at the highest point.” -Antonio Porchia

“We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful what we pretend to be.” -Kurt Vonnegut

“If the mistress [of the house] be a wife, never let an account of her husband’s failings pass her lips.” – Isabella Beeton

“To keep your marriage brimming, with love in the loving cup, whenever you’re wrong, admit it; whenever you’re right, shut up.” -Ogden Nash

“I’ve always felt that there’s a very thin membrane between madness and alcoholism, and/or destitution and being an OK American guy in a comfortable heated apartment with meatballs and a decent Sauvignon Blanc in the fridge.” -August Kleinzahler

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Lists, Working for a Living, Writing

3 responses to “Quotes found in my office

  1. I am quite attached to this quote:
    “If you know your enemies and know yourself, you will win 100 times in 100 battles. If you only know yourself, but not your opponent, you’ll win one and lose the next. If you do not know yourself or your enemy, you will always lose.”
    Sun Tzu

    I guess it’s the nature of my profession.

  2. Here’s one of my favorites: “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?”

    Satchel Paige

  3. Great quotes from both you, Neoauteur and Joanna. They’ll both be added to the collection post-haste!

Leave a Reply

