The Thanksgiving Menu

I’ve become the family Thanksgiving cook around here for the in-laws after several years of team-cooking the meal alone with my ex as experience. And to be honest- I love it. I spent six years unable to go home for the holiday due to money, where I had to be a guest at other people’s meals. And it’s never really the same. The dishes may be the same, but if you baste with butter and your hosts brine with citrus, it’s not the same. My mother, bless her heart, is not much of a cook. She can whip up anything that comes pre-packaged just fine and I was raised fairly sane eating Stove Top stuffing and canned veggies and a purchased turkey breast from Honeybaked Hams.  Now, my Granny (Tennessee, born and raised): that woman can cook! So, I’ve tried to be the Southern cook of the family… and done ok so far!

This year’s Thanksgiving menu:

  • A 19 lb. turkey, brined overnight and roasted all day
  • Stuffing (inside the bird and out)
  • Sweet potato casserole
  • Mashed potatoes from scratch
  • Broccoli with cheese sauce
  • Gravy
  • Crescent rolls
  • Honeyed carrots with brown sugar
  • Green bean casserole
  • Fried corn with bacon
  • Corn muffins
  • Homemade baked mac and cheese (if I get ambitious)
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Homemade pumpkin pie (with real pumpkin)
  • Chocolate cream pies
  • Appetizer- spinach dip and toast points

and I think if you ask the fiance’, football is on the menu as well 🙂

We need traditions- maybe I can convince everyone to play a few rounds of nickel poker? Or watch the parade? Or go on a long walk after dinner? Or help put up the silly little Christmas tree?

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

