A Bukowski moment

I always used to be amused by Charles Bukowski’s tales of trying to get fired from the postal service. Your Eleanor is not a disgruntled postal worker but has had several adventures in not caring whether she gets fired. The latest? On Friday I just plain didn’t go to work. I just couldn’t do it. I felt exhausted at the sheer idea of getting ready and the mind-numbing 8 hours ahead of me. So, what did I do? I just didn’t go. No call. No show. Changed my voicemail to say I was out of the office and stayed in my pj’s all day. Repurcussions? None that I know of. No one called me at home or on the cell. And other than a few concerned moments wondering how one pays the rent when she is absolutely potentially unemployed… I had a lovely four day weekend (thank you Veterans!).

Leave a comment

Filed under Working for a Living

Leave a Reply

